St. Andrews

Overview of the St. Andrews Lock & Dam

A brief look at one of the most significant landmarks in the area, the St. Andrews Lock & Dam. This document showcases the history, construction, and present use of the locks and how it continues to attract many tourists and fishermen all year round.

St. Andrew’s Rectory

The St. Andrews Rectory is was originally built in 1930 as a log home to house the minister for the St. Andrews church. While the wooden building was first constructed by Reverend William Cockran, the working minister at the time, a stone structure was built from 1854-1856 with the help of local master stone mason,…

1910 First boat through locks Winnitoba

St. Andrews Lock & Dam Centennial Festival

This fantastic local landmark celebrated 100 years of operation in 2010 and this pdf shows the events and activities that took place at the festival held in Lockport. Click the arrow to view this document in a new page on your browser.

St. Clements

Birds Hill

Bird’s Hill was named for the Bird family, who lived here during the early days of Manitoba settlement. James Curtis Bird (c. 1773-1856) was Chief Factor of the Red River District for the Hudson Bay Company and was renowned for his knowledge of the region. In 1824, he retired from 36 years of Company service…

Brokenhead Wetland Interpretive Trails

Brokenhead Wetlands Trails can be located by driving north from Winnipeg on PTH 59, passing the Brokenhead Ojibway Nation by approximately 2kms, passing PTH 304 (Stead Road), and using the access road on the west side of the highway which is just south of the highway 12 intersection. The Brokenhead Wetlands Trail geocache site is…

Cox House

Built in 1862 by Robert Cox, Cox House is one of only two surviving Red River frame style houses in Manitoba still on its original site. Red River frame was an architectural style where walls were formed by slipping short logs cut with protruding tongues into vertical logs that had channels cut down their length….

Landmarks of St. Clements

This easy-to-read Powerpoint PDF showcases many of the most notable landmarks in the St. Clements Municipality. Click the arrow below to open this document in a new page on your browser.

Red River Floodway

Floods have always been a fact of life for Manitobans. In colonial days, settlers would flee to high ground at places like Bird’s Hill. In the 1900s, however, Manitoba’s population boomed and its building infrastructure expanded. The Great Flood of 1950 saw over 10,500 homes flooded (1/10th of Winnipeg). The great potential damage future floods could…

Grand Marais

Landmarks of Grand Marais

This document contains many of the best features that the Grand Marais area has to offer. Be sure to check out this lesser-known historic community within the Red River North region. Click the arrow below to access this document in a new window on your browser.

East Selkirk

Municipal Office

Municipal Office of St. Clements

The first St. Clements Municipal Office was located on Lot 94 of Old Henderson Highway. This lot was owned by William T. Fidler who assisted with the caretaking duties.  From 1884 until 1914, this building was the cornerstone of the community; it even acted as a temporary school for the Kitchener School District in 1900.  The…

Selkirk Generating Station

The Selkirk Generating Station is the second largest thermal-electric generating station in Manitoba.  It is located on the east side of the Red River, adjacent to East Selkirk, about 40 km (24 miles) from Winnipeg.  It has a thermal capacity of some 132,000 kilowatts while its gas turbines generate about 25,000 kilowatts.   Construction began May…