The Holy Trinity Ukrainian Greek Orthodox Church is located in the district of Poplar Park, on road 88N off highway 59. In 1905 two acres of land for the church and cemetery were purchased from Mr. Klym Weremy at a cost of $35.00. The church was built of logs in 1907 and in 1911 the Building Committee finished the interior and exterior.
The first church bell was bought in 1913. In 1927 the church was remodeled and extended from the east and turned half-way around with the entrance door facing west. The graveyard of the church contains approximately 150 grave markers, mostly of Ukrainian heritage.
There are two unique features to the design of the Orthodox Church, the first being the Orthodox cross. This cross, also known as the Crux Orthodoxa, has two additional bars near the top and bottom of the traditional cross. The top bar represents the sign which was posted on top of Jesus’ cross titled “INRI” (“Jesus of Nazareth, King of the Jews”), the mocking title bestowed on Christ by the Romans in the New Testament account of the crucifixion.
Although the lower bar is said to have multiple meanings, the most common representation concerns the two thieves who were crucified with Jesus. One thief repented and rose to heaven (depicted by the left side) and the other did not regret his sin and went to hell (depicted on right). Another unique feature is the onion dome, which is popularly believed to symbolize a burning candle.
The Holy Trinity Ukrainian Greek Orthodox Church geocache site is located at GPS coordinates N 50° 17.940 latitude and W 096° 41.559 longitude.