Bright Star School, Tyndall

The new School District of Bright Star No. 2024 was formed by a board of arbitrators, acting upon a petition signed by Walter Pasieka and thirteen other landowners of the area. This meeting was held at Tyndall, MB. On Thursday, Feb. 5, 1920 at 2 p.m. This new district was to be made up of land from existing school districts, from Brookside, S.D. No. 1546 came the east 1/2 of Sec. 22, 27, and 34, and all of Sec. 23, 26, and 35 in tp. 14-6E. Lily dale S.D. No. 1285 would give up the East 1/2 of Sec. 15, all of Sec. 11, 13, 14, and 24 and the North 1/2 of Sec. 12 in tp. 14-6E. Sand Hill S.D. No. 1372 would give up the West half of Sec. 18 and the NW 1/4 of Sec. 7, tp. 14-7E., and finally from White Poplar S.D. No. 187? would come Sec. 25 and 36 in tp. 14-6E, and the W 1/2 of Sec. 19, 30 and 31 in tp. 14-7E.

This new school building would be situated on the NW 1/4 of Sec. 14-14-6E. The nearest schoolhouse from this site would be 3 1/2 miles. The first meeting of the Bright Star school district was held at the home of B. Oganowski, on the N 1/2 of SW 23-14-6E. This school district had a total of 1280 acres.

The land in this school district was part in the R.M. of St. Clements and part in the R.M. of Brokenhead, the school site being in the R.M. of Brokenhead. This school remained in operation until it was dissolved by consolidating with the Agassiz School Division No. 13, on Jan. l, 1968.

Mike Wasylik was Secretary at the time of consolidation. We would like to share with you a list of most all of the teachers who taught at Bright Star S.D. No. 2024.

Marjorie Magus 1922
Annie Brodie Carswell Dunn 1923
Sophie Adamek 1924-192’7
Margaret A. Gorowski 1927 -1928
Edith Margaret Harvey 1928
Mrs. Hope Bowman 1929
Mrs. Arnold G. Flett 1929
Olive Margaret Wall 1930
Mrs. Hope Bowman 1930- 1932
Erin Marguerite FIett 1932- 1934
Evelyn Margaret Flett 1935
Walter Vladmir Zabolotny 1935-1938
Minnie Agnes Cooper 1938- 1940
Ella June Bilan 1940-1941
Joseph Frederick l94l -1942
Stella Helene Dancho 1942-1945
Fern Koziar 1945-1946
Mrs. Belle M. Bruce 1947
Mary Evelyn Dufault 1947- 1948
Peter Kozyra 1948-1949
Ella Nalinta 1949-1950
Sophie J. Galka 1950-1966

Submitted by Mrs. Pat. Goodman.

Posted in Schools.